Monday, August 15, 2016

Summer Sabbatical time once again



The Dog Days of Summer have arrived and the only solution to the condition is to take it to the highway!

It's  time for the annual summer break, so we'll be shutting down the new content for the blog through the rest of August, with plans to return to our efforts in a couple of weeks or so.

With our sabbatical, our regular review of Council issues and updates for many of our other features that require attention on an ongoing basis will be in hibernation for that period.  

We'll play a bit of catch up upon our return, filling in the gaps as best we can.

Feel free to wander through the various topics listed on the right hand column, you may find some items of interest that you may have missed when they first came out.

You can also take advantage of the opportunity to take some time to explore our political blog Darcy McGee, which follows federal and provincial politics.

Real Estate Tracker: Week ending August 14, 2016


Our weekly review of the listings of the local real estate agents, tracking those properties which appear to be driving the local price structure for the North Coast.

Every Monday, we look over the listing prices of the past seven days and outline the Top 10 asking prices in the area, providing a snap shot as to where the Real Estate market may be trending on a week to week basis.

The listings below are purely for information purposes, for further background on the properties recorded, see our links page for access to the individual real estate listings.

The Archive for our weekly review can be found here.

Our list of the top ten priced homes for the week ending August 14 is below:

Prince Rupert Real Estate West Side
week ending August 14, 2016
Prince Rupert Real Estate East Side
week ending August 14, 2016



One new entry marks our list to launch our review of August, with a 7th Avenue property on the east side entering the listings for the first time. Departing the listings on the week is a property on Summit, which brings a shift to the balance of properties on the list of ten.

The east side now features four listings, while the west side drops one to six listed from the west side of the McBride Street divide.

The change to the roster is found in the upper to middle area of the list, leaving the lower range remaining at the $439,000 value, while our top end shows no change from last week standing at $575,000.

Below find our findings as of the Week ending August 14, 2016

2085 Graham Avenue                   $575,000  --  Remax
1724 Graham Avenue                   $545,000  --  Royal Lepage
1725 West Second Avenue           $530,000 --   Royal Lepage
1311-1314 Sloan Avenue             $524,000 --   Remax
1325 7th Avenue East                  $489,000 --   Remax  (new)
333 11th Avenue East                   $485,000 --  Royal Lepage
1735 Graham Avenue                   $469,000  --  Remax
112 Raven Place                           $444,900  --  Remax
947 11th Avenue East                   $443,000 --  Remax
100 Alpine Drive                          $439,900  --  Remax

For more items related to Real Estate see our archive page here.

For background on Housing issues in the region see our past items here.


Sunday, August 14, 2016

Blog Watching: Week ending August 14, 2016


LNG items continue to claim much of the focus when it comes to news on the North Coast, with both the proposed terminal project on Digby Island and Pacific NorthWest LNG's proposal for Lelu island continuing to capture the interest of the public.

A concern from Digby Island about possible encroachment into areas of the Dodge Cove Official Community Plan topped our list of review, that as the issue made its way to the Agenda of Skeena Queen Charlotte Regional District this week.

While the latest observations from the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency on its review of the Pacific NorthWest LNG project also were of significant interest to residents of the region over the last seven days.

Other items of note to make the list of five through the week included how a routine traffic stop turned into a much larger investigation for the Prince Rupert RCMP, the debut of former Charles Hays Rainmaker with the UBC Thunderbird program and how a land sale on Graham Avenue has continued to make for much in the way of conversation in Prince Rupert and beyond.

The top story of the week however followed the latest notes related to the proposed Aurora LNG project for Digby island.

Regional District to review Aurora LNG encroachment on Digby Island -- A land question related to the proposed LNG terminal for the south end of Digby Island makes for a topic for Skeena Queen Charlotte Regional District  (posted August 8, 2016)

That article was followed by:

No extension planned for Pacific NorthWest LNG CEAA Review --  The review period for the proposed LNG terminal at Lelu Island remains on track towards a mid October date  (posted August 12, 2016)

Routine traffic stop brings multiple drug charges for Prince Rupert resident -- A Prince Rupert resident faces a number of drug related charges following an arrest on the city's east side (posted August 11, 2016)

Showtime for McChesney as UBC faces Charlotte 49ers --  Former CHSS Rainmaker Justin McChesney made his UBC debut this week as the T-Birds took on the Charlotte 49ers of the NCAA  ( posted August 11, 2016)

Graham Avenue land sale gains a bit of out of town attention --  While City Council may have had its final words on a land sale on the west side, the topic continues to make for discussion around the community and beyond (posted August 8, 2016)

You can find our Blog watching featured posted every Sunday morning by 9AM, a handy way to catch up to the week that was, at a leisurely weekend pace.

You can also review the full listings of the week just past from our Blog Archive index page found on the right hand side of the page.

For those looking for updates to items as they are posted to the blog, don't forget about our email alert access.

A daily review of the latest items on the blog can be delivered to your email in box, simply by entering your email address into the information bar, items posted to the blog will be delivered to your e-mail account each day.

You can find the link to that feature on the upper, right hand side of the blog. Underneath the Follow the North Coast Review by Email indicator.

Our archive of weekly Blog Watching can be found here

Friday, August 12, 2016

Back to School time just over the summer horizon

August seems to be moving at a rapid pace, with Monday marking the mid way point for the final month of summer vacations for School District 52's teachers, staff members and students.

With the indications that back to school time easily found in the city's stores and the Back To School Sales currently underway, SD52 is getting ready to ring the bell on a new year of studies on the North Coast.

Registration for any new students to the region, or those that have moved to a new school catchment area will be taking place from August 29th through to September 2nd from 9 AM to Noon, with all elementary schools in the City open for parents/guardians to register their children.

The first day of School comes up on Tuesday, September 6th with Schools in session as follows:

All elementary schools 
Kindergarten  -- Families of kindergarten students will be notified of start dates and times by their school
Grades 1 to 5  10 AM to Noon

Prince Rupert Middle School
Grades 7-8 -- 10:30 AM to Noon
Grade 6 -- 1 PM to 3 PM

Charles Hays Secondary School
Grades 11 and 12 -- 9:45 AM
Grades 9 and 10 -- 1 PM
CHSS students must be present the first day of school to ensure their seat in the classes that they have chosen for 2016-17.

Pacific Coast School
Grades 9 to 12 -- 10 AM

Regular classes for all schools will commence on Wednesday, September 7th

More background on the launch of the school year can be found on the SD52 website.

Below is a list of Schools in the SD52 system and the start times of classes in 2016-17



Annunciation, the City's Independent School follows much the same schedule as SD52, background information on the first day of school and the full schedule for the year has been posted to the Annunciation website.

The Annunciation offices will reopen on August 22nd, more background on what Annunciation has to offer can be found here, notes on Parent Resources for the year ahead can be reviewed here

For more items related to education on the North Coast see our archive page here.

Cow Bay Gift Galley has a Whale of an idea!

Thar she blows! 
The Cow Bay Gift Galley
has gifted some unique benches
to the City of Prince Rupert
(photo from Cow Bay Gift
Galley Facebook page
)

There have been a number of whale spottings in the Cow Bay area the last few days, and none of them were directed at the waters of Prince Rupert harbour.

The Cow Bay Gift Galley is celebrating its 25th year of business in the Cow Bay district and once again owner Glen Saunders has shown his community spirit, purchasing a number of Whale Tail themed benches for placement around the city.

The impressive looking Whale tail benches which were designed by Jeff King were created in Vancouver and shipped to the North Coast with Bandstra Transportation.

Yesterday workers from RONA and City work crews began the process of anchoring them in place, with the first of the group travelling through the city's streets from the RONA yard in Cow Bay and delivered to Mariner's Park.

Two more will be put in place around the city in the weeks to come. Making for another conversation topic that will surely become the theme of many a photo from visitors to the city.

The Cow Bay Gift Galley Facebook page features a number of photos of the unique benches and the work of yesterday to put them in place.

Residents and visitors can now take a load off their
feet with some new benches being installed around the city
(photo from Cow Bay Gift Galley Facebook page)

More notes on tourism initiatives on the North Coast can be found on our archive page.

Rampage Regular Season Home Opener debuts October 1st

The 2016-17 home season schedule for the Prince Rupert Rampage has been released and the North Coast squads quest for a championship will start on October 1st with the first of eight home dates at the Jim Ciccone Civic Centre.

The Rhinos will dig into the ice against the Kitimat Ice Demons on the first Saturday of October, with eyes set on finally bringing a championship season to the faithful of the Jim.

From game one until the end of the regular season in late January the Rampage will play host to the Ice Demons, Terrace River Kings and Smithers Steelheads twice, while the Williams Lake Stampeders and Quesnel Kangaroos will both make the annual trek to the north coast once each during the course of the 2016-17 season.

The full home schedule for the year ahead can be found below:

Saturday, October 1 --       Kitimat Ice Demons                 7 PM 
Saturday, October 15 --     Terrace River Kings                7 PM 
Saturday, November 5 --   Quesnel Kangaroos                 7 PM 
Saturday, November 19 -- Terrace River Kings                7 PM 
Saturday, December 10 -- Smithers Steelheads                7 PM 
Saturday, January 7 --       Kitimat Ice Demons                 7 PM 
Saturday, January 14 --     Williams Lake Stampeders     7 PM
Saturday, January 21 --     Smithers Steelheads                7 PM 


The complete CIHL schedule is set to be released later this month, providing North Coast hockey fans with a blue print for the path ahead for the Rampage as they take to the ice against familiar Northwest rivals, all of which have designs on a shot at the Coy Cup.

One team from last season that won't be on the ice for 2016-17 will be the Lac La Hache Tomahawks, that team decided that there were too many uncertainties with their rink and commitments from players and volunteers to make a go of it for this year.

That will make the CIHL a six team circuit for this year, though league officials are hoping to find other interested communities to sign on with the six member squads into the future.

As for off ice activities for the Rampage players and their fans, the year ahead brings a couple of returning events to the social calendar.

The popular Skate with Rampage event makes a return again this year, set for Sunday, December 11th from 4 to 5:15 PM, admission to the crowd favourite activity comes with a donation to the Salvation Army Food Bank.

Plans are also in the works for another Ringing in of the New Year with the Rampage, with more details on the celebrations and night of entertainment to be provided as we get closer to the holiday period.

Rampage tickets will once again be available at a number of local outlets including Northern Savings Credit Union, Stuck On Designs, Oceanside Sports and the Prince Rupert Civic Centre complex.

Adult admission for the 2016-17 season remains at 10 dollars, while Children can get into the Jim for 5 dollars.

Returning members of the team and those looking to crack the line up will get their first chance to shake off the rust as part of the upcoming Lou Lemire hockey camp at the Civic Centre.

From there the launch of training camp, practice sessions and possibly some exhibition games will help to prepare the team for the start of the teams.

Updates on the team can be found from their websiteFacebook page and twitter feed.

You can follow our notes on the Rampage through the 2016-17 from our archive page here.


CIHL News 2016-17



Our archive of news items from the Central Interior Hockey League for the 2016-17 season, with particular note given to the Prince Rupert Rampage.

Our Schedule and Game Summaries pages can be found below:
(Pages go live once the season is underway)

Prince Rupert Rampage Results page 2016-17
Prince Rupert Rampage Schedule 2016-17

For those looking for more information on the Rampage, the team provides background on its latest developments from their, Website,  Facebook Page and Twitter Feed.

North Coast Review items


August 

August 12 -- Rampage Regular Season Home Opener debuts October 1st
August  5 -- Popular hockey camp start date fast approaching


Items of interest from other regional sources

August



Archive of past years

2015-16 2014-15
2013-14
2012-13